Mother Nature… You Beotch

Just when you think you can bring out the sandals, Mother Nature dumps on us a load of snow. It melts… It dumps… It rains… It dumps snow. It looks pretty, that white pure blanket, well if it was November, but not the end of March – it’s disheartening. I remember snow storms in May so anything is possible. It’s a vicious cycle. It’s like a January filled with 31 Mondays. The sky is dreary and the switching of the clock to spring forward is a little presumptuous since it doesn’t feel like Spring. Believe me, I’m the last person to pull out the bucket of summer shoes, but the way things are going, I started wearing my outdoor runners and I am not putting my winter boats on again! I stand my ground on that.
First world problems. But I do feel for the East coast! They got a freakishly hu-massive dose of winter in what should have been Spring. Just watching people getting stuck and stranded reminded me how much worse it could be where we live. It’s happened before.
It’s like Mother Nature is kicking back, slippers on, looking around her room. She’s feeling anxious, like something is missing. She sees her map of North American pinned against the wall. She waddles her way to the edge of her recliner, clumsily places her crantini on the table in front of her. She then picks up a feathered dart lying just beside her glass. She pulls the crook of her arm back, closes her eyes & flings the dart, “HA! Winnipeg! One doozy of a snowstorm coming right up!!!
Yeah, that must be it. We were bbq’ing several times last week, almost got lulled into believing ‘Winter’s OVER!’ NOT! But people are still running around the city in shorts! Not just in the afternoon but first thing in the morning. Pneumonia season is alive and well.
So before I pack away the jackets and mitts, I wait. Patiently. I’m Canadian, I know no other option.

About jnflamand

I love to write, in fact, my mind is a like a running tap most days! It's unfortunate that with having a crazy, busy life most original ideas are lost in the shuffle. However there are the few that get through, and as twisted as they are, they get my creative juices flowing. "What If....." has to be my favorite definitive statement, as it all starts from there. I like it as a starting point as I try to bend the concept and make my ideas believable. I write to make others 'Think'! www.jnflamand.com
This entry was posted in Change, Snow, Spring, weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment